2017 Heisman Trophy finalists

The Heisman is one of the most notable awards in sports and the top award in college football. The Heisman has been awarded to the best college football player dating back to 1935. The award originated in 1936 after the death of legendary football player John W. Heisman.

This year’s finalists are QB Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma, QB Lamar Jackson of Louisville, and RB Bryce Love of Stanford.┬áThe finalist were chosen by the Heisman Trust, which made the announcement on ESPN Monday night.

QB Baker Mayfield of the Oaklahoma Sooners

Baker Mayfield is the favorite to win after leading the Sooners to their third straight Big 12 title. Mayfield broke his own 2016 record this season, setting a record for passing efficiency. He threw for 4,340 yards with 41 touchdowns; the second highest number of the season. Although he’s been very controversial lately due to his behavior on the field, especially the sidelines. Yet his efforts this season have contributed to his becoming a Heisman finalist.


QB Lamar Jackson of the Louisville Cardinals

Lamar Jackson is looking for a repeat after winning the trophy last season. He is hoping to become the second player to win the award two years in a row after Archie Griffin did it in 1974 and 1975. His chances are very good based off his stats this season, throwing for 3,489 yards and scoring 25 touchdowns.

Lastly, Bryce Love scored 17 touchdowns and was second in the

Bryce Love of the Stanford Cardinals

country in rushing with 1,973 yards. He did it mostly with a seriously injured ankle, too, which is very impressive.

What are your thought about who will win the Heisman Trophy this year? The winner will be announced at a ceremony Saturday in New York and tune into ESPN at 8 p.m.